Confessions of a “Grown-Up”

I have a confession to make…

I went to the dentist on Monday. When I called to make the appointment, the kind receptionist asked me to come in 20 minutes early to fill out paper work because it has been 6 years! I immediately debated going to a new dentist to avoid the slap on the wrist.

I very nervously walked into my appointment wondering if I was going to walk out with dentures. How did 6 years go by? The thing is, my dentist has floor seats at the Bulls games, so I see him often when I work. I smile at him. It’s like a check-up, right?! I guess I just felt like I had gone because I see him. The other thing that happened is that when I became a “grown-up” my mom stopped making appointments for me. I did not pick up where she left off.

I am writing you this slice with a numb mouth and a couple other appointments scheduled, including my next teeth cleaning! I sometimes slack on the whole taking care of myself thing. This is a lesson learned the hard way. I am going to try to be a better “grown-up.” Does anybody out there have a check-list on how to better adult?!

I didn’t mean to leave you hanging…I do not need dentures.

7 thoughts on “Confessions of a “Grown-Up”

  1. Haha this is hilarious! I’m 25 and still don’t have a primary doctor.. probably need one of those. Never transitioned after my pediatrician haha, so I feel your struggle!

    Like

  2. Glad to hear you don;t need dentures. It is hard to remember all the things we are supposed to do to maintain ourselves. Now that you have gone back, I bet they will be sure to remind you to come. Mine makes my next appointment before I leave.

    Like

  3. I am glad to hear I am not the only one! I have avoided the dentist because I don’t want a slap on the wrist. I need to learn how to better adult and make my own appointments! Glad to hear you made it through with no need for dentures. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

