A Good Busy

Friendships are something so important to me, and during the school year, I have a terrible at work/life balance. Between teaching, coaching, Bulls games and babysitting, I work a lot, and live a little. As I get older, I am realizing how important balance is in life. While my scale often dramatically weighs one way or the other, it is something I am aware of and always trying to figure out.

That said, I try to take full advantage of my breaks. 

My spring break has consisted of a lot of living. I have had a lot of catch-up phone calls, dinners and hangouts. The days leading up to break, I started making plans. Dinner and a movie on Monday, cooking with my roommate on Tuesday, Wednesday, meet a friend for dinner, Thursday, trivia night with a few others. Friday and Saturday, weekend tournament for softball and Sunday, Hawks game with a friend. Although a busy break, I am glad to be able to have the time and these moments with my friends.

What is great about all of my friendships is the support they give. Most of my close friends are my college softball friends, so they understand the time commitment for coaching, not to mention, their occasional appearances to games to cheer us on! If they’re not asking about the team, they love to hear about my students. They have even given goodie bags to my class for holidays. Their support and understanding makes it easier to do all the things that I do…plus, they know every few months I have a break and will be back in full swing! 🙂

On this spring break, my life scale is heavy.  I am catching up with friends and family, resting, relaxing and getting ready to finish out the school year on a strong note!

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Good Busy

  1. Sounds like a wonderful break! I feel the same way with my college friends – it’s so hard to get our schedules together and we all live in different cities. But, when we do see each other, it’s like no time has passed. We spend hours catching up and then reminiscing. Gotta love good friends!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

