Salmon and Asparagus 

I have always been very interested in the art of cooking. I love looking at recipes, watching tv shows and observing others in the kitchen. The key words: looking, watching, observing. 

I do all the things great cooks do, but actually cook. I don’t understand spices and no chance I try a recipe that requires more than 3 ingredients. It’s overwhelming. I mean, what does thyme even taste like!?

Failed Attempt #1:  I tried Hello Fresh to help me explore new spices and recipes. It was great! I loved so many of the meals I prepared. I don’t remember specific spices or ingredients. I’ve replicated zero recipes and added not one new spice to my spice cabinet. My spice cabinet is ground black pepper and garlic powder. 

Failed Attempt #2: I’ve watched friends experiment and “wing it” when cooking dinner. I ask questions, lots of questions. How did they know that would be a good idea!? The only explanation, they’re magicians. 

Long story short, I’ve got one trick up my sleeve, salmon. You just put it in a foil pouch with some lemon, garlic powder and pepper…oh and I season the asparagus with the same stuff. Sources say there is more to life than salmon and asparagus, I have yet to test that theory. 

So tonight, and for the third night this week, I’ll have my go-to and only meal, salmon and asparagus. 

I would try this cooking thing out again, but it just wouldn’t be fair to the only meal that has been so good to me these past few years. 

2 thoughts on “Salmon and Asparagus 

  1. Yes, you’ve just got to venture out and experiment. Expect to fail again, it’s pretty much inevitable, but you learn a lot through trial and error. “Failure leads to success?” Haha.. I’m currently cooking salmon, myself. I concoct all sorts of different seasonings and marinades… usually pulling from multiples recipes. I’m cooking my salmon now with a marinade of soy sauce, brown sugar, ginger, cayenne pepper, salt, pepper, and minced garlic. Who knows?! I’ve done a version of it before.. we’ll see. But sometimes less is more… and hey, if it ain’t broke, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

