Co-Workers

Today I was reminded of how lucky I am to work with the people I do. From day #1 I was welcomed with open arms. Every teacher in my hallway stopped in to introduce themselves and to see if there was anything I needed. That hasn’t stopped yet. I have been in three other school districts and never have I seen a support system like the one at the school and district I am currently a part of.

The past two days I was at a PD for purposeful play with fellow colleagues. They all have been implementing this in their classrooms for years. I picked their brains and received great feedback. With every question I had, they would respond with great suggestions and ideas. We brainstormed set-up ideas, how to execute, they offered me materials and considered me in every thought and conversation. They were just as excited to guide me along the way as I was to learn from them.

I don’t know if they realize how much their support and positive attitude has meant to me. I am a second year teacher, and sometimes I just need a little guidance or someone to talk to. I feel so comfortable asking questions because everyone is eager to help. I am surrounded with teachers who have several years under their belts and are always willing to share their knowledge and give advice. Not only do they share, but they listen to my, “so what do you think…what should I do…what would you do…how much are the chips in the office” questions. I think a big part of my growth and success as a teacher is because of the people around me.

Thank you, hallway of wisdom!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Co-Workers

  1. Neat slice! I enjoyed reading about how comfortable and supported you feel. It’s wonderful to hear such positive comments. Don’t sell yourself short – I am sure they are learning just as much from you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

