Game Day!

Today is our first softball game of the season! I am so excited. I woke up at 6:15am and wasn’t able to fall back asleep. My mind is racing…

Have we worked on every possible situation?
Are the girls mentally prepared?
Are our pitcher ready?
How will our bats be?
Will we make the right coaching calls during the game?
Is the line-up we decided on the best 9?
How will we handle failure?… if need be
It is our first game…how much should I say? or do I let them play out the situations and use them as talking points at the next practice? Coach per play? …maybe they didn’t understand and that is why they made a mistake?

I have been coaching softball for years! These are questions I have every day. As a player, I never though being on the other side would be hard. Coaching is tough. You want to make sure you have done everything in your power to prepare your team, but have you? I guess not being able to physically be out there is my struggle. I still want to be the one out there making the plays!

Being a coach has extreme highs and lows. Always a roller coaster type of experience, but that is what makes it fun. How do you bounce back when you’redown? And how do you carry yourself when you’re up? Guess we will find out at noon today.

Let the games begin!

Lady Bengal Pride!

10 thoughts on “Game Day!

Leave a Reply

