Traffic JAMMIN’!

Last night’s Big 10 games ended late, I wasn’t on the road until about 11:15pm. I get on the express way only to find that there is nightly construction and 3 lanes are merging into 1. Traffic so bad I actually put my car in park for about 10 minutes. I spent my first couple minutes enraged — WHY ARE THERE THIS MANY PEOPLE ON THE ROAD RIGHT NOW AND WHY ARE WE NOT MOVING!?! The next couple minutes I tried to turn my car slightly onto the shoulder in hopes to be able to see what’s going on. I don’t know why I always try to do that, you can never see anything. Then, I finally accepted the situation and decided snoop around my own car.  I opened up my glove compartment. In there, I found some really old CDs…and some really old ketchup packets that should have been thrown away about 5 years ago. Anyways, I popped in a CD from 2009….and so my slice begins…..

Who: Miley Cyrus and Me

When: Saturday, March 7, 2015 at 11:30pm

Where: In my car, stuck in traffic on I-90 E

What: Caught by fellow traffic jammers while I was singing and dancing to Party in the USA — by Miley Cyrus

Why: Because I used to love that song and I knew all the words…and maybe I was a little tired and delirious  too

…We’ve all been here. Although it is terribly embarrassing, I like to think each one of my car commuting performances are Grammy worthy. It’s not the first and it won’t be the last time I’ll be caught. All I know is that my traffic jam experience was WAY more fun than all the miserable people in traffic who were judging me for singing and dancing in my car.

I cant wait to see what other songs are on these CDs!

9 thoughts on “Traffic JAMMIN’!

  1. I have been caught more time than I care to admit in this same circumstance, but I don’t need the traffic. My one year old even makes the entire van dance when a song she really likes arrives through the speakers. Keep dancing…you may even cheer someone up that is fortunate enough to witness it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wonder what it would be like if everyone in traffic would do it at the same time…flash mob in a line? Crisp writing, set the scene, connecting with the reader (yes, we have all been there), and action. This writing had it all. Letting the reader connect extremely powerful.
    I got caught one time rocking out on my way to the beach. I was in full mode-head shaking, volume up as far as it goes, and banging on the steering wheel as I approached the ezpass…a horn beeps several times. I glance to see my students and their parents waving and laughing….it doesn’t end there…I am older than the parents!!!
    Thanks for letting me join the show.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the way you structured your post. It reminds me of a car commercial where the driver is caught rapping as her boss is calling her. Fun!

    Like

  4. Funny slice, Lindsay! Being stuck in traffic stinks, but you found a great way to pass the time. I had to laugh out loud when I read about the old ketchup packets! I think I have a few of those too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

