A Slice of Dr. Seuss 

Happy birthday Dr. Seuss! Today my slice will be about my all time favorite quote from the doctor himself…


“You’ll miss the best things if you keep your eyes shut.”

I used to be a home body, stay in my bubble, never take a risk. I missed out on a lot because I was afraid. Afraid of what?? I don’t have the answer to that. For me, going to college at Loyola opened up my eyes to so many things. I’m pretty sure I cried and begged my parents to let me come home the entire first month I was there. Who were all of these people? You mean I have to take an over crowded bus and a train with people I don’t know?!!? Why are they touching me?! I  was a sheltered girl! …I think my mom was close to caving but my dad would quickly cut in to tell me to suck it up! He was right. 

Thinking back I can’t help but laugh at myself! Ten years later I still live in the city and love everything about it. The people, the pace and the ‘places you will go.’ Loyola and the city opened my eyes to countless memories and experiences. I would have missed out on so much had I kept my eyes and mind closed. 
5 thoughts on “A Slice of Dr. Seuss 

  1. Great slice! I can relate to this in so many ways. Makes me think about my first day of everything…1st grade, 8th grade, high school. I cried every single time. Thank goodness for strong parents who push their little birdies from the nest, knowing full well that they will soar!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

